Photo

I'm a little new to anime, any suggestions?

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 mooseabella

mooseabella

Bit

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 June 2014 - 12:18 PM

I've watched a lot of soul eater, some attack on Titan, some Hetalia, and I just started lucky star...any suggestions?

#2 SushiKitten

SushiKitten

Coffee Cat

• Members
  • 1,916 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 02 June 2014 - 12:24 PM

Oh, oh, oh! This is my time to shine! I wrote a post like this a couple months ago somewhere... here:

One of the best 'gateway anime' imo is Fullmetal Alchemist. It's set in a world where alchemy is a thing, and there are people who study it. It's basically magic. It follows two brothers who committed one of the most taboo acts, trying to bring their mother back to life by human transmutation. It's hard to describe the story from there because there's two different versions of this series, the first series starts off close to the manga, and then branches off into it's own story. The second series was like a remake of the first that more closely follows the manga. I recommend the second series, Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, but it doesn't matter which one you choose. I just like Brotherhood better.

Death Note is also pretty good. In short, it's about the protagonist, a high school boy, finding a special notebook: If you write a name in the book, that person will die. The protagonist then uses the book to instill his own version of justice over hardened criminals and such. The series then goes into a battle of wits with him and the best detective in the world. It's really good and I think it's one of those shows you think about well after it's over. I dunno, it really made me think about morality.