10 replies to this topic

#1 veryangryfairy

veryangryfairy

Byte

• Members
  • 43 posts
  • LocationDK

Posted 06 February 2013 - 09:44 AM

I can't believe there's not a topic about this. o.o (I didn't know where to post, because it's for both console and pc.)

So! I know it's not brand new, and Giants has been released since, but I haven't tried this till recently. My boyfriend bought it for his daughter (she's almost 4, and loves to watch us play games like Skyrim or Crash Bandicoot), but she wasn't really interested in this. Only the cute little figures seemed to catch her attention, but no fun when she can't actually play with them.
Some of you might find it strange that she likes games like that, but she's a very intelligent and smart little girl. She also loves Star Wars, and one of her favourite "songs" is the Imperial March.

Anyway! Since she didn't like it, my boyfriend and I started playing it. We were thrilled when we found out you can play the actual game together, and not only the battle part. And o ma gawd. It's brilliant, and oh so funny! He had got the 3 characters that were with the game, and another one. Two days later we went out and bought 7 more. Seven, yes. So now we have 11 and we're hooked. Haha.

So I suppose the actual purpose of this thread is to express my excitement and amazement. But what about you? Tried it? Like it? Why?

#2 Affray

Affray

Knower of things

• Members
  • 5,753 posts
  • LocationThe Great White North

Posted 06 February 2013 - 09:56 AM

I played around with it in a Future Shop a while ago.
It struck me as a very cool way to go about gaming.
A perfect tool for getting young people in to video games.

I would never buy it myself, but that does not remove from how clever it is.
It played like any other game in its genre, but the methods of character selection is both financially and creatively genius.
The company makes more money when you buy new characters, and kids get a new toy to literally and digitally play with.