24 replies to this topic

#1 SushiKitten

SushiKitten

Coffee Cat

• Members
  • 1,916 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 09 October 2012 - 02:31 PM

So, in the attempt to have a good (and inexpensive) technical hobby for my resume, as well as to further enjoy the career path that I am choosing, I really wanted to get into some open source projects to learn different coding languages and see some applications to the stuff I'm learning in my courses.

But, uh, where would I look? I only really frequent tumblr, and I'm not experienced enough to just go up to some giant project and be like, "I wanna help!". Anything I can think of (osu! or Pokemon World Online) is too big for me to fit myself into as a beginner.

Is there like a place where they all sort of mingle and talk or something? How would I go about finding a project that's just starting and doesn't have high standards for programmers?

#2 Guest_ElatedOwl_*

Guest_ElatedOwl_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 October 2012 - 02:54 PM

Most of them vary fairly widely between projects. The problem is just about any open source software is gonna be highly abstracted and very beginner unfriendly.

Why not come up with some projects for yourself? They don't need to be practical, just something you can enjoy doing. Did you have a specific language in mind?

#3 SushiKitten

SushiKitten

Coffee Cat

• Members
  • 1,916 posts
  • LocationCanada

Posted 09 October 2012 - 03:12 PM

I'm in the middle of a course that's teaching me the ins and outs of object oriented programming, mainly C++ so I was hoping to use that. I've been applying for work term jobs for the winter and I've found that a lot of employers ask for experience in Java as well, I wanted to learn that to add to my skill set.

I'll take your advice and start a couple of my own projects first. I can't see a text based RPG being too difficult, just long.

#4 Guest_ElatedOwl_*

Guest_ElatedOwl_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 October 2012 - 03:16 PM